Major Events 1769-1820


5 January: Fall of Tarifa.
8 January: Second siege of Ciudad Rodrigo begins.
10 January: France occupies Swedish Pomerania.
19 January: Fall of Ciudad Rodrigo.
26 February: Alliance between France and Prussia.
10 March: Alliance between France and Austria.
16 March:
Third siege of Badajoz.
24 March: Secret Russo-Swedish agreement.
6 April: Storm of Badajoz.
17-28 May: Conference of Dresden.
28 May: Peace of Bucharest.
18 June: War begins between US and Britain.
20 June: Sixth Coalition against France formed.
24 June: French cross the river Niemen in Poland.
28 June: Battle of Vilna.
22 July: The battle of Salamanca.
23 July: Action at Garcia Hernandez.
28 July: The battle of Vitebsk.
13 August: Duke of Wellington enters Madrid.
17-19 August: Battles of Smolensk, Valutino.
17-18 August: First battle of Polotsk.
24 August: Siege of Cadiz ends.
7 September: Battle of Borodino.
14 September: Napoleon Bonaparte enters Moscow.
15 September: Fires begin in Moscow.
19 September: Siege of Burgos.
13 October: Battle of Queenston.
18 October: Battle of Vinkovo, or Taruntino.
19 October: Start of French withdrawal from Moscow.
22 October: Siege of Burgos ends.
23 October: Conspiracy of General Malet.
24-25 October: Battle of Maloyaroslavets.
2 November: French retake Madrid.
3 November: Battle of Fiodoroivskoy.
14 November: Second battle of Polotsk.
17 November: Battle of Krasnoe.
27-29 November: Battle of the Beresina.
5 December: Bonaparte abandons Grand Armee.
14 December: French rearguard crosses the Niemen.
18 December: Bonaparte reaches Paris.
30 December: Convention of Tauroggen.


25 January: Bonaparte and Pope sign second Concordat.
10 March: Siege of Torgau.
16 March: Prussia declares war on France.
1 May: Death of Bessieres.
2 May: Battle of Lutzen.
11 May: Fall of Torgau.
20-21 May: Battle of Bautzen.
28-29 May: Battle of Sackett's Harbour.
30 May: Siege of Hamburg starts.
2 June: Armistice of Pleischwitz.
12 June: French withdraw from Madrid.
21 June: Battle of Vitoria.
22 June: Siege of Pamplona.
27 June: Siege of San Sebastian.
25 July: Battles of Maya and Roncesvalles.
27-30 July: Battle of Sorauren.
12 August: Austria declares war on France.
23 August: Battle of Gross Beeren.
26-27 August: Battle of Dresden.
30 August: Battle of Kulm.
31 August: Fall of San Sebastian.
1 September: Battle of Vera.
6 September: Battle of Dennewitz.
10 September: Battle of Lake Erie.
12 September: Battle of Ordal.
13 September: Battle of Villafranca.
3 October: Battle of Wartenberg.
4 October: Second siege of Torgau.
7 October: Second battle of Vera.
16 October: Battles of Lindenau, Mockern.
16-19 October: Battle of Leipzig.
18 October: Bavaria, Saxony join war against France.
30 October: Fall of Torgau.
10 November: Battle of the Nivelle.
9-12 November: Battle of the River Nive.
11 December: Treaty of Valencay.
13 December: Battle of St Pierre.


Napoleon Bonaparte
Career Portraits
Quotes Family
Loves Letters
Plots Murdered?
His will Places
Era of Napoleon
Powers Opponents
Coalitions Allies
People Timelines
Key sites Shrapnel
Campaigns Battles
Armies Generals
Marshals Winners
Glossary Medical
Weapons 1812 War
Uniforms Battlefields
War at Sea
Naval War Heroes
Artworks Signals
Nelson Trafalgar
Key Maps Peninsula
Animated 1796/1800
1809 Russia
French Revolution
Revolution Guillotine
Posters People
Art, Film, Games
Education Goya
Sharpe Hornblower
Books Movies
DVDs Music
Wargames Images
Cartoons Caricatures
About Us Sources
Awards Sitemap
Links Militaria
Miniatures Reenactors
Forum Quizzes
Home Waterloo Diorama
Copyright Richard Moore 1999-2017 | Privacy Policy | Contact Us